Picking Up Some Subscribers, A New Theme, And Virginia Wildfires

Subscribers

People benefit from having a community of bloggers that can be searched for. I seem to be benefiting from this as well. It is primarily the tagging functionality that is getting people to visit my blog.  So, if you are reading this, be sure to use really descriptive tags.

Think about what others will search for, and use that as a way to generate tags for your posts.  Try to pick both generic and specific tags for your posts. However, don’t abuse the system. If I went to a blog with no related content via a tag, I would probably be upset and never visit again.

Ironically, I never really expected to gain any subscribers with this blog, but I am starting to think different.  I thank the 4 of you that have subscribed, and I hope to make it more with time.  I will try posting at least every other day.  My main motivation for writing is knowing that I have helped at least one person with my words. Feedback from any of my readers is icing on the cake.

WordPress Theming

Anyways, I decided to install a new theme for Tech In Demand.  I actually like it more for its “magazinish” type look.  I’ve always been a fan of magazine themes for WordPress, and I am going to stick with the one that I installed.  I hope to customize it furthermore, and perhaps—if this blog gets popular—I will invest some money for the CSS customizations and try to mimic that design here.

Virginia Fires & A Terrorism Threat


(Image Credit: Associated Press)

The border between Virginia and North Carolina is currently suffering from heavy wildfires. It has actually gotten so bad that nearly 60 miles away I can smell the burning.  It has actually managed to give me a serious headache, and the fires are expected to get worse.  The officials think that the fire was started on purpose.

I think it is something that America needs to look out for.  It is not that hard to think that terrorists could start setting fire many of our forests with the intent to cause serious damage. Areas around here in particular are just starving for some rain. It is a scary thought, but until we find better ways to fight wildfires, there is little we can do.  We just rebuild.

4 responses to “Picking Up Some Subscribers, A New Theme, And Virginia Wildfires

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Allen Taylor

  2. You guys are dry–and we are frozen…seriously. I just chipped an inch of ICE from my car.
    When I got to Tech in Demand today I was like O_o…what the heck? Its interesting though 🙂

  3. I like the new layout 🙂

    Send some snow here to VA. Everyone, including the trees, could use it!

  4. The new layout is growing on me 🙂 and I would gladly send you some snow if I could 🙂

Leave a Reply

