Digsby: The Best Multi-Purpose Instant Messaging I’ve Seen So Far

I don’t instant message too often, but when I do, I usually have around 4 – 6 different applications loaded. MSN, Yahoo, AIM, GTalk, ICQ take up system resources.  Digsby eliminates the need for having separate clients by combining them all into one.

People might be saying, “We have multi-protocol instant messaging clients like Trillian already,” but there is something about this that just makes me want to use it.  It just looks fantastic.  I also really enjoy how it pops up little notifications when someone receives a message, and how a user can reply directly within the notifications.

Also included is the functionality to connect to Facebook and MySpace for receiving alerts from our favorite social networking sites.  If a user has an account with either of these services, there is no reason not to be up-to-date on all his or her friend’s activities.

The icing on the cake?  Digsby allows users the ability to connect with several email services and protocols. This means I no longer have to keep Gmail loaded in my browser. I know I could have downloaded Gmail Notifier, but I didn’t want to waste resources for only that.  With this, it combines so many services into one that I have no problem using it.

It is a winner in my mind. I will have a full review on Tech In Demand either today or tomorrow.  Be sure to check it out!

One response to “Digsby: The Best Multi-Purpose Instant Messaging I’ve Seen So Far

  1. Digsby–totally the coolest thing ever!

Leave a Reply

