I Want To Get Published In A Magazine Like Wired, PC World, or PC Mag.

Time for another one of my goals in life that I am determined to accomplish—I really want to get an article published in a magazine. The reasoning behind it is simple really—I have always thought it would be exciting to be the person that writes all those articles which hundreds of thousands of people read. I don’t think that this is an unreachable goal either.

There is just something about the idea of getting something I write published in a traditional medium that intrigues me. When I was younger, I had dreamed that I would be the one in the back of the magazine writing all the product reviews for games and gadgets.

I wouldn’t mind having my own column; however, I would simply be satisfied with having anything I write displayed in a magazine. I consider this as one of my goals in life. I want to get something of mine published in a major print media form.

I’ve been doing a tiny bit of research on how I would accomplish this, but it seems similar to a job application. I would pitch my idea to the correct editor, and basically I would explain why it would be a good article for the magazine and its readers. If the idea is accepted, I would be assigned the job. After that, I would be writing.

Apparently, freelance magazine writers make anywhere from a few cents to several dollars per word.  Nice chunk of change in my opinion.  Although, I am not interested in becoming a freelance magazine writer. Just interesting little factoid to know about.

Anyways, I just wanted to get that out of my system.

One response to “I Want To Get Published In A Magazine Like Wired, PC World, or PC Mag.

  1. >_<…I just applied for a photographer job at our local newspaper…They are going to think 1 of 2 things about that cover letter that I sent in…1. damn she’s long winded and wasted my time…2. damn she’s personable we got to have her (okay maybe not the we got to have her part, but you get my drift)..lol…I added some of the links from my wordpress page for examples…and now I feel completely retarded–just thought I’d share that with you lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

